top of page

Blog #7: Chapter 9 BBG

Chapter Nine of the Bedford Book of Genres discusses revising and remixing your work. I am currently focusing on finishing my final product for project one. It is still quite messy, and needs to be focused down and formed into what I want to convey. I learned through this essay that I needed to keep on revising, and revising to me is best from reading to myself. I keep on reading it aloud, and I find the parts that I would not say if I were talking in normal conversation. I then remove that sentence entirely, and try to convey the message as if I were talking to my roommate or another good friend. I then read it again, and if it just seems awkward, I find it best to remix it. I don’t remix it into another genre like the BBG suggests, but instead try to relate it to another message. I then connect the message with the original, and connect it to the sentences before and after the new insert. I found this chapter to be helpful in editing my essay (which I am almost done editing!) by making everything sound nice. I often cringe when I read aloud my writings, however given enough time and focus I am able to make it sound casual. It is strange how to me I hate my writing unless it sounds casual and conversational, but you’ve read 7 of my blog posts now, you know how fancy these are. How’s your day been? See you tomorrow morning bright and early.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page