top of page

Blog #4: Chapter 8 BBG

Chapter 8 of the Bedford Book of Genres is about composing in Genres. I learned about rough drafting and how to find my topic, as well as how to refine it towards the final project. How spewing out endless material will help you have enough to work with after refining it to something worth publishing. In my first project, I went through the checklist on page 443 and found the points on my own writing. This helped me see what my writing meant to me, and made myself rewrite major parts of it so that it would be focused on an academic setting instead of an emotional rant to myself. I was able to make my essay follow the rubric closely and be more stable in its message. It made my second draft much higher in quality than the initial. Instead of being lost I found my way. But it also taught me towards my normal writing. I have to find out who I am writing for and not what I just thought of. My brain tends to spew out many different, random things that have little to no meaning. I now know to remove the messages that have nonsensible purpose, and leave in only what is worth reading. There is much else in the chapter, but the primary thing I learned was this.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page